The ABCIS school logo

The International Award

The ABC International School operates the International Award (an adaptation of the Duke of Edinburgh Award). The award is currently open to all students in Year 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13. The minimum age requirement to join  is 14.

There are three Levels of participation: Bronze, Silver and the Gold Award.

The four Sections that need to be completed in order to gain the Award at each level include:

  • Service (helping the community)
  • Adventurous Journey (an overnight expedition)
  • Skill (a personal talent or interest)
  • Physical Recreation ( a sport or physical activity)


The Award concept is one of individual challenge designed to encourage young people to develop into responsible, active citizens who will positively contribute towards society. It presents a balanced, non-competitive and enjoyable program of voluntary activities which encourage personal discovery and growth, self-reliance, perseverance, responsibility and service to the community.

We encourage all our students to take part in the award and see it as a valuable contribution for university applications and further study.

For more information please visit